“Ironspy” in book trailer

Pardon me as I plug Holly’s book, since she and Shiraz were so kind and enthusiastic in their request to use “Ironspy”. They sped it up a bit to fit the time, but it still works.

The trailer looks crazy good, doesn’t it?

That freaky sound underneath Melissa during the first minute of Ironspy is my guitar, tuned down a full octave(!) and feeding back like crazy in front of an amp. The resulting vibration was so strong I didn’t need to pick the strings, only move my fingers along the frets. If only all of my experiments were that successful!

6 thoughts on ““Ironspy” in book trailer

  1. You know, I think this is the perfect time to ask this question about my fourth-favorite song ever recorded:

    What in the sweet hell is “Ironspy” (or, I suppose, an “Ironspy”)? What does that mean? (You can only imagine how much I love the song if it’s one of my favorite songs ever, even though I don’t know what it means.)

    Actually, since I’m here, I’m going to ask a question about my favorite song ever recorded:

    “Elvis Sunday”. Significance?

  2. Well, I don’t want to give the game away, and Melissa never liked to get too explicit about explaining what her lyrics meant. So instead, I’ll just throw a random factoid out at you, which may or may not have any bearing on what the song means: I have a super-early draft of this song in which the lyric was “Ironspine”.

    As for Elvis Sunday… the guitar part was inspired by the old Elvis rockers from the 50’s (if you imagine the beginning of the song with a rockabilly beat), and the “Sunday” was because thematically, the song has the wistful feeling of that band (The Sundays). The music for this song was stitched together from a handful of things I’d written pre-Splashdown.

    Bet you thought it was going to be something more clever and mysterious than that! 🙂

  3. I can relate to Melissa there.

    I don’t even think I know what half my lyrics mean. I like lyrics that remain ambiguous. Take what you like from them. Make up your own themes and stories.

  4. Hello, Adam – I just found this! Thank you again for allowing us to use Ironspy, still one of my very favorite Splashdown songs. I’m always asked about the music whenever I present about the book and show the trailer, so hopefully you’ve acquired a new set of fans as a result. Thank you also for linking! Best wishes to you and on all of your new music.

    Holly

Leave a Reply

