Cynthia’s FREAKS Costume Ball

Nobody knows how to throw a party like Cynthia, and last night was no exception. Here she is in her natural environment: a Manhattan bathtub.

Marvelous performances by Amanda Palmer and many other luminaries. Evening ended on a profoundly sour note however when Russell broke his hand — not cool at all. A speedy recovery to you, Russell.

At Cynthia's FREAKS costume ball, October 2, 2010


Cynthia von Buhler as a mermaid

The two lovelies in the background traversed the party in stilts. I was impressed. (Also in the background, in suit and tie, Mr. Lemony Snicket)

At Cynthia's FREAKS costume ball, October 2, 2010

And I also met Mike, who really knew his Splashdown. It’s possible that he’s more knowledgeable about the band than anyone, myself included. Rock on, Mike.

Mike & Adam at Cynthia's FREAKS costume ball, October 2, 2010

2 thoughts on “Cynthia’s FREAKS Costume Ball

  1. So I thought to myself, “Hey, I wonder if he HAS updated his web site in the past three years…” And I see that it’s now an actual blog! And I see me! (Unfortunately, in the picture your lovely lady took, I look just awful- I don’t know what my mouth is doing- but that’s certainly not her fault.) Suffice it to say, this made my day.

    It would take weeks or months to fully explain what your music has meant to me throughout my entire adolescence and adult life, and it would take almost as long to tell you how wonderful it was to meet you. That night was already going to be one I knew I’d never forget, but that simply made it a dream come true. Since, unfortunately, I don’t have those months, this will have to suffice for now: Thank you. From the bottom of my heart, thank you. I can only hope that I will have the chance to see you again soon.

    With great love,
    Mike

Leave a Reply

